The Ordinary 100% L-Ascorbic Acid Powder Review

If you’ve been following my blog lately, you know my skincare routine involves many The Ordinary products. I’m a fan. Okay, I’m fanatical about The Ordinary. I could write post after post about my love for them and their products, how I use their products, etc. But I won’t bore you with that. 

I’ve tried almost all of their products and use most of them in rotation. It’s easy to overdo it and damage your skin by trying all of the products at the same time (trust me on this one, okay?), so start slow. Patience is key. 

I was most excited to try one of their Vitamin C products but they offer a large variety and I wasn’t sure where to begin. Vitamin C is fantastic for the skin. It’s an antioxidant (protects the skin from free radicals done by UV damage), good for pigmentation, brightens the skin, and fights signs of aging. It’s great for everything

I’ve previously tried Drunk Elephant’s C-Firma Vitamin C Day Serum and hated it. I then cursed all Vitamin C products and refused to use them for years. The serum was an oily, oxidized mess. It was both wet and greasy at the same time, it oxidized to bright orange (for Vitamin C products, the efficacy wanes when the product turns yellow/orange), and it burned my skin. It was awful. 

Two years ago, I stumbled upon The Ordinary and saw the variety of Vitamin C products they offer. I decided to give Vitamin C another try. I first started with a low dose to ease myself into it. I tried one of their Vitamin C serums (Ascorbyl Glucoside Solution 12%) and liked it. But after a while, I wanted something stronger. 

Enter The Ordinary’s 100% Vitamin C powder, the 100% L-Ascorbic Acid Powder. It’s a fine powder that must be mixed with a liquid to create an emulsion. It’s not for the faint of heart, and yes, it makes me feel like a chemist when I use it. It’s the most effective, non-filler Vitamin C product I’ve tried, and I refuse to go back. 

The Specifics:

Brand: The Ordinary 

Claims: “L-Ascorbic Acid powder that visibly targets the appearance of uneven skin tone, dullness, and signs of aging.” (x

Ingredients: Ascorbic Acid

Affordability: I paid $5.80 CDN for 1oz/30ml of powder. Honestly, this will last me a lifetime, considering you only use a 1/4 scoop (which they provide). Compared to other Vitamin C serums, this is affordable and worth the price tag. Don’t tell The Ordinary, but I would gladly pay more for this product. 

Condition of my skin: I’ve used this product on blemished skin, and it tingles. I recommend using it when your skin has no open scabs or blemishes. 

Skin prep: I double cleanse, use a toner and then use this product. Alternatively, I use a sheet mask after toning and then use this product. 

How do I use this product?: Since this is a powder, it must be mixed with a liquid. The Ordinary recommends starting with a 1/8 scoop and then moving up to a 1/4 scoop once your skin gains tolerance. I tried using this powder with facial oils and found it doesn’t sink into my skin as I would prefer. 

Here’s my fool-proof emulsion: 

  • 1/4 scoop of powder (do not exceed 1/4 of a scoop)
  • 3 drops of The Ordinary’s Resveratrol 3% + Ferulic Acid 3%
  • 3 drops of The Ordinary’s 100% Plant-Derived Squalane
  • 2-3 drops of The Ordinary’s Amino Acids + B5
  • 2 pumps of COSRX Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence

Use immediately! Don’t premix this ahead of time or make a large batch. This must be used as soon as you mix everything together. I place all of the ingredients in the palm of my (clean) hand and stir until amalgamated and no powder remains. Then I rub my hands together and gently pat this mixture all over my face and neck (not my eye area), and finish off my routine with a moisturizer. I know the efficacy of Vitamin C decreases when mixed with a water-based serum, but I found this recipe works well for me. 

On their site, The Ordinary lists what products can and cannot be used with this powder. Since this is strong, it can only be used with a handful of their offerings. Make sure to check beforehand what this powder can be used with. I stick with with their Resveratrol serum and am happy with the results. 

Smell: No scent

Texture: A fine white powder. When suspended with liquid, it disappears into the liquid. 

How does it leave my face?: This powder is magic. It instantly brightens my face and reduces the look of my pigmented spots. I will never get over how my face looks when I use this powder in my emulsion. My skin becomes bright and radiant. 

How does my face feel afterward?: The powder (when suspended in the emulsion) brightens my face, making it radiant. My skin becomes softer, more supple, and hydrated. It also smooths the texture of my skin. 

Does it meet its claims/results?: Yes! I rarely try a product that is effective and does exactly what it claims. The results were borderline miraculous. 

Love or hate?:  Love! Absolute adore this powder. That being said, I also think the ingredients in the emulsion boost the efficacy of this product. I also love the fact that this product is in a glass container with a metal lid. I think it’s better than using plastic and the container is UV protected packaging. I’m a fan of The Ordinary’s simplistic aesthetics, their glass bottles with minimal plastic, and no fragrance/fillers. This product is yet another example of simple but effective.

Repurchase: Yes. However, the amount of powder in the glass container will last me a long time. I doubt I will have to repurchase this product any time soon. 

Recommend: I cannot recommend this power enough. It’s effective, free-of fillers, layers well beneath other skincare products, makeup, and sunscreen. However, if you have sensitive skin, I recommend starting with The Ordinary’s other (lower strength) Vitamin C products and slowly work your way up to this one. This stuff is strong and for the first few weeks of usage, you’ll feel a slight tingle on your face. Don’t be worried, your skin will gain a tolerance to the product. If you’re on the fence about Vitamin C or are looking for a different Vitamin C product, I recommend this powder. 

Final thoughts: I’m so glad I dove back into Vitamin C and never fully gave up on it. After the failure and awfulness of the Drunk Elephant’s Vitamin C serum, this powder seems like it came down from the heavens. Am I being overly dramatic? Yes. But the results and how amazing my face looks after using this powder is borderline miraculous and impressive. Once again, The Ordinary has delivered impressive results! 

  • wears well beneath skincare, makeup, and sunscreen
  • doesn’t pill or cause other products to pill
  • no fillers
  • fragrance-free
  • affordable
  • effective
  • in a glass, UV protected container
  • comes with a scoop 
  • must be mixed with liquids
  • strong Vitamin C 
  • doesn’t oxidize or lose efficacy in its packaging
  • will last a while 

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment